WA Community Kindergarten


Happiness is where learning begins. Children's early learning influences their entire life. Preschools (kindergarten and pre-primary) provide oportunities for children to learn as they discover, create and imagine. 

Apart from school based on-site kindergarten programs, there are 28 community kindergartens operating in Western Australia. Community kindergartens typically operate in facilities that are leased from local authorities and are linked to a local public school. A Parent Management Committee is responsible for the management of the community kindergarten. Please see below for a list of community kindergartens and linked schools.

Community KindergartenLinked School
Albany Community Kindergarten Albany Primary School
Bullsbrook Community Kindergarten Bullsbrook College
Byford Community Kindergarten Byford Primary School
Chidlow Community Kindergarten Chidlow Primary School
Glen Forrest Community Kindergarten Glen Forrest Primary School
Hazel Orme Community Kindergarten White Gum Valley Primary School
Hillarys Community Kindergarten Hillarys Primary School
Kindaimanna Community Kindergarten Grovelands Primary School
Lockyer Community Kindergarten Mt Lockyer Primary School
Lower King Community Kindergarten Flinders Park Primary School
McDougall Park Community Kindergarten Curtin Primary School
Mt Helena Community Kindergarten Mt Helena Primary School
Mullaloo Community Kindergarten Mullaloo Beach Primary School
Padbury Community Kindergarten Bambara Primary School
Pineview Community Kindergarten Coolbellup Community School
Rossmoyne - Riverton Community Kindergarten Rossmoyne Primary School
Seaview Community Kindergarten North Cottesloe Primary School
Spring Road Community Kindergarten Gooseberry Hill Primary School
Tuart Hill Primary School Tuart Hill Primary School


1. There are other types of preschools such as early entry or preschool classes operated by independent or catholic schools. The difference betweem government and non-government preschools is: they are funded and managed differently.

2. Long day care centres (also known as childcare centres) also offer preschool education programs for children from birth–to–5 year olds. Long day care centres generally open for at least eight hours per day and run for 48 weeks a year. To find a long day care centre in your area, go to www.mychild.gov.au.